Awards for Excellence at Molodist 42

Established in 1970 as an event for viewing short films produced by students of the Kiev State Theatrical Art Institute, Molodist has grown into an event which is considered by the International Federation of Film Producers Association (FIAPF) to be one of the premium cinema events in both Ukraine and Eastern Europe. Also referred to as the Kyiv International Film Festival, Molodist is a key platform in the region for presenting the latest offerings in mainstream and experimental film. The 42nd edition of the event took place in Kiev on October 20-28, 2012, and was by all accounts a resounding success.

The festival featured both competition and non-competition films. For the competition, the categories were Short Films, Student Films and Full-Length Films. The running time of a short film is no longer than 30 minutes and provides the opportunity for promising filmmakers to present their films to the audience personally. Student films focus on young people who show talent in this competitive and creative field, and around thirty films are shown each year at the festival. Full-Length films are presented by filmmakers who have graduated and gone on to develop their skills in the art of filmmaking. Up to ten full-length debut films are on the annual program, highlighting the most innovative trends in Europe and world cinema. All three categories are judged for Best Film in each category, Yves Montand Prize for Best Young Actor, the Grand Prix, and Audience Award. Other features of the Molodist International Film Festival include a National Competition and Alternative Competition, as well as non-competition films under geographic and thematic categories.

This year’s Grand Prix award went to the film entitled simply L by Babis Makridis of Greece, while the prize for the Best Feature Film went to Gimme the Loot by Adam Leon of the United States, and the prize for Best Short Film was awarded to Oh Willy…, a joint collaboration by Emma de Swaef and Marc James Roels. The prize for Best Student Film was awarded jointed to Return by Shay Levi of Israel, and The Road To… by Taisia Igumentseva of Russia. The award for the Best Film of the National Competition went to Independence Day by Antonina Noyabrova.