Vorontsov Palace belonged to one of the wealthiest families of Russia's 19th-century. The grandiose building took 18 years to construct, and was designed by Englishman Edward Blore as a blend of styles with Gothic exteriors harmonically neighboring Moorish elements. Construction began in 1830, and in the summer of 1848 the place was completed with the addition of three pairs of white marble Medici lions. They were installed alongside the central staircase leading up to the palace. For three generations, the Vorontsov Palace belonged to the Vorontsov family. After the October Revolution, in 1921, the palace was nationalized after which it was converted into a museum. In 1927, the palace's Shuvalov wing housed a sanatorium. During the war, it was Field Marshal Erich von Manstein's personal headquarters. During the Yalta Conference, Winston Churchill and his British delegation were given temporary residence within the Vorontsov Palace. For several years after the war, the palace was used as a summer residence for the Soviet secret police; and later as a trade sanatorium. In 1956, the palace was once again reinstated as a museum.