Online E-visas: Ukraine wraps up an early Christmas present for citizens from 52 countries

by UNIAN Staff
December 23, 2018
This article originally appeared in UNIAN

Photo from

Ukraine will begin offering electronic visas (e-visas) to citizens of 52 countries starting in the new year, in an expanded list of visa categories, Ukraine’s Ministry of Foreign Affairs (MFA) announced.

“Starting from January 1, 2019, the MFA has introduced an extended range of Ukraine’s e-visas categories (as per the purpose of travel to Ukraine: business, private, tourism, medical treatment, cultural/scientific/educational/sports activities, foreign mass media staff visits,” the MFA announced on its website. Such visas will be issued to citizens of the following 52 countries: Australia, Bahamas, Bahrain, Barbados, Belize, Bolivia, Bhutan, Cambodia, China, Columbia, Costa Rica, Dominica, the Dominican Republic, Ecuador, El Salvador, Fiji, Grenada, Guatemala, Haiti, Honduras, Indonesia, Jamaica, Kiribati, Kuwait, Laos, Malaysia, Maldives, the Marshall Islands, Mauritius, Mexico, Micronesia, Myanmar, Nauru, Nepal, New Zealand, Nicaragua, Oman, Palau, Peru, Saint Lucia, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, Samoa, Saudi Arabia, Seychelles, Singapore, the Solomon Islands, Suriname, Thailand, Timor-Leste, Trinidad and Tobago, Tuvalu, and Vanuatu.

In light of this new accessibility for the visa regime, it should be especially noted that, as reported earlier by the MFA, Ukraine will therefore stop issuing visas to foreign citizens upon arrival at international airports (as previously done) also starting January 1, 2019.

To apply online, a foreign citizen should first register at the MFA web-platform; then fill in an application form online and upload copies of necessary documents (photo, passport, health insurance policy with EUR 30,000 coverage, proof of sufficient funds, document confirming the purpose of the visit, others). The payment for the e-visa (US$85) could be handled online by a MasterCard/Visa card. All e-Visa applications are processed within nine business days. An e-Visa or visa refusal letter is sent to an applicant’s email address in pdf format; e-Visas are issued as single entry visas valid for up to 30 days. All applicants should submit their printed e-Visas (along with their valid travel documents) to Ukraine’s State Border Guard Service officers when entering Ukraine.