Konotop, Russia

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Konotop, Russia

Hi - I am new at this so please bear with me. I am looking for records for my grandfather Peter Sczamrylo (as spelled on the ship manifest) or Schamrylo. We spelled it Szemrelo. He was born in 1894 in Konotop, Russia (as listed on the ship manifest). He was met in America by Wasily Kochnowich. He arrived in Philadelphia in 1913 from Liverpool, England and lived in Milwaukee, Wisconsin. From childhood memories I remember the family talking about the Ukraine but also about the Pinsk area in Belarus. Any suggestions where I should start? Thank you!

Brestregion.com shows two Konotop in what is Belarus today.
    ===============================================
    I copied following from Belarus Archives:

After the second partition of Rzecz Pospolita (1793), the central part of Belarus
    was annexed to the Russian Empire, where the Minsk gubernia/region was formed
    in 1795-1796.

The Minsk gubernia consisted of 13 uezds/counties: Bobruisk, Borisov, Vileika, David-Gorodok, Disna, Dok****sy, Igumen, Mozyr, Minsk, Nesvizh, Postavy, Pinsk, and Slutsk uezds. In 1796, the David-Gorodok, Dok****sy, Nesvizh, and Postavy uezds were abolished. In 1797, the Rechitsa uezd was included into the Minsk gubernia. In 1842, the Novogrudok uezd was given to the Minsk gubernia from the Grodno gubernia; the Vileika and Disna uezds went into the Vilno gubernia. From November 1917, the Minsk gubernia was included into the Western Region; in 1918 - into the Western Commune; from January 1, 1919 - into the BSSR; from February 2, 1919 - into Litbel. In 1919, the Baranovichi uezd was formed; the Rechitsa and Mozyr uezds as well as some parts of the Bobruisk, Borisov, and Igumen uezds were added