Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Looking for great grandparents' families....

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Looking for great grandparents' families....

To say I am frustrated, is a sheer understatement. I have been working on my family tree for nearly 3 1/2 years and finally got my great grandmother's maiden name about six months ago. All I have for her is her name, Feigah (Fanny) Dorolotzsky... where she is from, Kiev...and her approximate year of birth, 1876. I also have frustrations trying to find Aaron's family as well.

She married my great grandfather, Aaron Jampolsky, in Odessa. They had my grandfather's brothers Maurice and Louis and sister Rose in Odessa and then moved to Milwaukee where my grandfather and his sisters Dorothy and Bertha and brother Max were born. I do know that my great grandfather died in July of 1914. Fanny then moved the family to Phliadelphia. In the first census where I found them, when they lived in Milwaukee, the last name was Jampolsky. When I found them in the census when they lived in the Phliadelphia, it was Jampolsky and now it is Yampell.

I have been told that Aaron brought the family to Milwaukee because HE had family there. It is thought that we may be related to the Annenberg family and that is why he brought them there. It is also believed that Fanny had Powell family in Philadelphia and that is why she moved 7children to Philadelphia.

So my frustrations lie with finding more information on their families. I do know I have Jampol cousins that came from the Ukraine and then settled in NY as I have extensively been researching that part of the family. It is my guess that they are descended from my great grandfather's brother but that too, I am not sure about either.