Go Back   Ukraine.com Discussion Forum > Personals > Personals

Notices

Searching for Dobrianskyj Relative Living in Lviv

LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 18th June 2012, 04:53

cg@christinagri is on a distinguished road
Searching for Dobrianskyj Relative Living in Lviv

I am searching for a living relative of my father, Jaroslav Dobrianskyj, who is a an engineer living in Lviv.
My father died a few years ago without passing this information to me. I live in NY and plan to visit Lviv and Nyzhankovichi, to learn more about my father's past. I would like to make contact with this person before making plans to visit. My grandfather's name was Nicholas Dobrianskyj and my grandmother's name was Angela Komar, who lived in Nyzhankovichi, near Prezmtsyl . My father left Lviv in 1944, finished his medical studies and became a doctor in Germany in 1947, and then emmigrated to the US. If anyone can tell me how to find my father's relative, please contact me.
Old 18th June 2012, 05:38

kika3_au is on a distinguished road
Dear CG,

You might like to try the following approach:

First transliterate the family name into cyrillic using the1) Ukrainian transliterator UA Translit - Ukrainian Transliteration and Spell Checker or 2) the Steve Morse site One-Step Webpages by Stephen P. Morse (this site can give you various alternative cyrillic spellings if the transliteration site result does not work for you)

Secondly use this website Телефонный справочник which is an old list of contact details and DOB info from the 1990's. Use Google translate to look for the link called 'All Ukraine' the word Ukraine in cyrillic starts with Ykpajna or similar then enter the family name in cyrillic in the first field along the top line. (The ukrainian word for surname starts with a letter that looks like a zero with a vertical line through it.) Use google tranlsate to help you.