Go Back   Ukraine.com Discussion Forum > Guest Book > Guest Book


BEWARE OF SCAM!!

Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 27th December 2002, 17:28
Irinka Irinka is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Posts: 1,613
Irinka
I created this thread in order to continue to share info on all the scam that you have experienced with Ukrainian businesses on the internet.
__________________
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 28th December 2002, 02:59
fraudsux fraudsux is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 3
fraudsux
Thank you for keeping this discussion alive. Hopefully we scared him off the internet!
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 31st December 2002, 02:17
ranger ranger is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 3
ranger
Can anyone tell me if orgtechnics.com is indeed a legit company? Here's their schpeel:

---
Welcome to OrgTechnics.com on-line store. The OrgTechnics company was
based in 1999 and became one of the pioneers of selling and distribution
of the electronics in Ukraine. Originally it referred to World Trans LLC,
but as we got on international market and performing on-line shopping, the
World Trans LLC, is known as being OrgTechnics.com.

OrgTechnics.com is one of the largest stocking vendors of new computers,
home and office equipment from Eastern Europe. We stock all major brands of
electronics products ranging from big TV's and Computers to little palm's and
mobile phones.

Since 1999 we have been striving to provide the best customer service
possible. With OrgTechnics.com that philosophy has continued. We listen
to your comments and continually improve our services. We have a live
sales team that is easy to reach us over e-mail, we are committed to
answering email quickly, and of course you can order from us anytime
from our web site.

If you cannot find an item on our online product database, feel free
to e-mail us. Our friendly sales representatives may be able to locate
the specific product you are looking for. In a few days we will find
you the item you need with all the specs you required. Our staff is
experienced and readily available to assist you in all your electronics
needs.

According to Kiev's most popular newspapers "DEN", OrgTechnics.com was
on third place in on-line sales raitings in 2000.It counts more than
450 employees, with 2 branches (Kiev and Odessa).
---

They do seem very professional, but a websearch on them doesn't turn up anything. I can only pay by bank transfer, which scares me a little. Deals are very good, but not like ones discussed earlier. If any locals know this company is on the up-and-up, I'd love to know it! Thanks!
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 31st December 2002, 03:19
fraudsux fraudsux is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 3
fraudsux
This fraud site is still going strong: http://lapkings.h1.ru/

DO NOT SEND MONEY TO THIS PERSON:

Intermediary bank: BKTRUS33
Deutsche Bank Trust Company Americas
New York, USA

Account with Institution: 04-402-971
Ukrsibbank, Kharkov, Ukraine
For Investbank,Odessa,Ukraine
acc. 16007580120100

Beneficiary Customer: acc.2620755266840
Details of payment: Dmitry Martynov


HE HAS TRIED DOING BUSINESS UNDER MANY DIFFERENT WEBSITES AND KEEPS SKIPPING AROUND TO OTHERS. ALWAYS USE CAUTION WHEN THE PERSON HAS A CREDIT CARD LOGO ON THEIR WEBSITE BUT ONLY WANTS A WIRE TRANSFER FROM A BANK.
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 31st December 2002, 03:33
fraudsux fraudsux is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 3
fraudsux
As far as OrgTechnics.com is concerned... I would be cautious when dealing with this company. They have a very nice looking website but it's right to wait and not just get excited about a good price.

First look here:
http://www-whois.internic.net/cgi/wh...om&type=domain
and see how long ago they registered the site. In this case the company has only been in business for a few months.

Second examine the payment required. This is the most important of all. If they will only take wire transfers and no COD or credit cards then DON'T DO IT. There is no guarantee that you'll get your product. If you use a credit card there is some fraud protection you can rely on.

Third how do they sound when you email them? Is it one person who continually writes you? Are they helpful or just wanting your money?

Fourth If it's too good to be true... it probably is.

Fifth:
Almost all good companies have an easy way to get ahold of them. A phone number or at least an email address they will respond to.


I could come up with a ton of other things but I think you get the idea. Too many people have been ripped off by a nice looking website. Take your time and make double sure this is where you want to spend your money. If you take the bait you may not have anywhere to turn...

In summary: I'm not saying that this company is bad... just take your time and make sure it's what you want to do.
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 31st December 2002, 13:51
ranger ranger is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 3
ranger
Thanks for the reply, that's very good advice. Very useful web reference, as well. They do have a .ru website as well, so the recent date on the .com may just be their entrance into the American marketplace.

It has been one person who has responded, a Sales Representative. The correspondence seems real, with portions from a form letter type thing and a section with personalized responses. As you see on the website, they list an address but non phone number. Contact is by e-mail only.

I asked for references in America who have purchased from them, but they told me it's their company's rules not to disclose customer's names. They go on to state that they understand my dilemma, but they are a serious company and don't want to ruin their reputation, sell 150-200 products a day, and that I should trust them and won't regret it. All of which could be easily made up, but I'd hate to pass by a legitimate opportunity because of my paranoia. If this is a legitimate operation, I do want to buy things from them and let others know that it is indeed a reputable source.

  #7 (permalink)  
Old 14th January 2003, 16:38
ranger ranger is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 3
ranger
In case anyone comes across this thread in a websearch, I wanted to post an update. It appears as if this company (or at least their U.S. operations) are a scam. The person I got the information about this company from said they have cut all contact with him, and apparently did not fulfill other people's orders.
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

Forum Jump



All times are GMT +1. The time now is 12:46.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.0.0 RC4 © 2006, Crawlability, Inc.