Go Back   Ukraine.com Discussion Forum > Society > Business

Notices

Importing Tools into Ukraine

LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 10th March 2013, 21:25

woodstock1 is on a distinguished road
Importing Tools into Ukraine

Hi everyone. I am married to a Ukrainian woman(since Oct 2012 please see my thread in the 'Moving'forum)and planning on moving to Odessa in the near furure. I am a skilled auto tech, with some expensive tools that I want to bring with me. I have considered using containerised transport, or filling a van and driving. My worry is import duty, I cannot get any sense from the people here in London.I would assume that when crossing the border, there will be a huge 'Duty' necessary to import them, as long as I have receipts to show they are mine. Any advise would be greatly appreciated, I don't want to see them all disappear at the container port or at border control!!! Many thanks in advance for any help.....Si..
Old 12th March 2013, 13:57

rcshott is on a distinguished road
G'day mate, I'm an Aussie married a local girl & moved here last year. Whilst I can't give specifics on Tools, you DO seem to have a grip on things which I'm currently going through. I intended bringing all my furniture until my wife & several friends said "DO NOT"!!! I didn't listen & sent some family heirlooms in July last year, shipping cost me $4,000, and now it sits in a wear-house waiting for me to 'pay' duty. Indeed, the problem appears to be if someone at customs likes what they see it may simply disappear (stolen). If not, customs can (AND DO) simply whack a bloody big 'tax' on it, so you either pay or it gets 'confiscated'. They then sell it & the money goes into their pocket!!!