Novhorod Siversky - Blanketed in Historical Monuments and Ancient Relics
On the banks of the Desna River, lies the small town of Novhorod Siversky. It was first mentioned in ancient documents from the year 1044 and has not grown much since then, with a population of approximately 15,000 residents. Novhorod Siversky is located in the Chernihiv Oblast and has a history that is both colorful and turbulent. Visitors to this picturesque little town will not be bored easily, as there are many noteworthy sights and folklores to listen to from the locals.
Part of Novhorod Siversky’s turbulent past includes a run-in with the feared Mongols in the year 1239, which led to the town’s destruction. But the fight for its existence did not end there. After the Mongols had devastated Novhorod Siversky, it ended up in the hands of the Dukes of Lithuania, then Muscovy, turned over to Poland and then to Russia after the Russo-Polish War during the years of 1654 to 1667. The town was finally left in peace from 1797 onwards.
This Ukrainian treasure chest of Novhorod Siversky in the Chernihiv Region is full of breathtaking architectural masterpieces, waiting to be explored. Visitors can look forward to seeing the Triumphal Arch, that was constructed in the year 1787, the cathedral, that was designed by Giacomo Quarenghi and built during the year 1791 to 1796, and the Assumption Cathedral.
The Spaso-Preobrazhensky monastery of Novhorod Siversky consists of a few structures that originate from the 16th century, the 17th century and the 18th century. The folklore attached to the monastery involves the cells that the monks used to occupy. In the year 1918, the monks of the monastery were forced to leave, and till today, the locals speculate as to what actually became of them. The monks were never heard of or seen again, they simply vanished. The monastery also suffered terribly during World War Two when many buildings, regardless of their actual purpose, were invaded by the armies to serve as military posts and barracks. Its most tragic role was that of a concentration camp during the Nazi War where many innocent people died at the hands of the enemy. On the grounds of the monastery, visitors will find a museum that was dedicated to a poem. Strange as it sounds, the poem tells the tale of Novhorod Siversky and Prince Ihor and is called "The Tale of Ihor’s Host". It was written by the hand of an anonymous poet. It is most certainly a unique and fascinating museum.
In this quaint town in Chernihiv Oblast, visitors will be enthralled by Bronze-Age settlements, ancient ruins, religious sites and fascinating legends. A town that enemies could not destroy, but only added to the historical richness of this wonderful town in Ukraine.